Snickers Cookie Cups

Image

Studying American English can be pretty awesome.

I’ve lived in my hometown of Poznań all my life (although it seems like that’s going to change soon.. But that’s a different issue altogether). It’s not a huge city, it has about 550,000 inhabitants. The number of foreigners here is very small, if we’re not counting German tourists who seem to hang out here all year long (we are close to the border after all). Yet it looks like most of the foreigners who actually do live here, work in my university department. Today I spent about an hour in the building of my department and somehow I’ve managed to talk to 3 Americans, a Canadian, a Brit, and a slightly confused Australian guy. Sometimes I lose sight of how unique that is, but then I chat with friends who study something else, and they are always pretty astonished. Then I’m usually asked “yeah, but why would they live in Poland, if they could live in the States or anywhere else?” I guess my city is pretty cool after all.

Anyway, I’m going to graduate in a little less than 2 months. That’s why I’ve been reminiscing quite a bit. And, as it usually is with me, that made me think of some of my favorite recipes. This one right here is something I make a lot, because it is so quick and totally delicious.

Image

It is basically an altered version of chocolate chip cookies. I bake them in ramekins instead of just dropping them on a cookie sheet (a muffin pan would work too). Also, I add chopped snickers, because let’s face it, it takes them to an all new level. That could be substituted with any other candy though.

Other than that, the recipe is pretty straightforward. The only other not so obvious addition is cornstarch – it makes the cookies very soft and perfect for me. I tend to prefer a soft and slightly underbaked cookie over a crispy one.

Image

Snickers Cookie Cups

source: adapted from Averie Cooks

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) softened butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • pinch salt, optional
  • 1 cup Snickers, chopped
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preparation:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350F.
  2. In a large bowl beat together butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla, until light and fluffy.
  3. Add flour, cornstarch, baking soda, optional salt, and mix.
  4. Fold in chopped snickers and chocolate chips.
  5. Fill the ramekins almost all the way, leaving a bit of space on top for them to rise.
  6. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until tops have slightly browned (if baking in a muffin pan, the baking time will be shorter). They will firm up as they cool. Allow the cookie cups to cool for 5 minutes before eating (be careful, the ramekins will still be hot).

źródło: zaadaptowane z Averie Cooks

Składniki:

  • 150g miękkiego masła
  • ¾ szklanki brązowego masła
  • 1 jajko
  • 2 łyżeczki ekstraktu z wanilii
  • 2 szklanki mąki
  • 2 łyżeczki skrobi kukurydzianej
  • 1 łyżeczka sody oczyszczonej
  • szczypta soli, opcjonalnie
  • 1 szklanka posiekanych snickersów (ok. 180gram)
  • 1 szklanka posiekanej czekolady deserowej (lub 1 tabliczka mlecznej i 1 tabliczka gorzkiej)

Przygotowanie:

  1. Rozgrzej piekarnik do 170ºC.
  2. W dużej misce wymieszaj masło, cukier, jajko, i wanilię, aż masa zrobi się lekka i puszysta.
  3. Dodaj mąkę, skrobię kukurydzianą, sodę oczyszczoną i opcjonalną sól, po czym wymieszaj.
  4. Dodaj posiekane snickersy i czekoladę.
  5. Wypełnij ramekiny (lub foremkę na muffiny) prawie do pełna, zostawiając trochę miejsca na górze by ciastka mogły swobodnie urosnąć.
  6. Piecz przez 12-14 minut, lub aż góra lekko zbrązowieje (jeśli pieczesz w foremce na muffiny, czas pieczenia się skróci). Ciastka zrobią się bardziej solidne gdy wystygną. Odstaw je do ostygnięcia na 5 minut przed jedzeniem (uwaga, ramekiny wciąż będą gorące).

4 thoughts on “Snickers Cookie Cups

  1. Um, I LOVE the idea of baking cookies in ramekins. I’d just throw a little ice cream over one while still warm and go at it with a spoon! How many ramekins do you use for this recipe?

    Like

    • This is quite a big recipe, you’d get around 10 cookie cups out of it. I tend to halve (or even quarter) it often, not to have so much tempting awesomeness lying around 😉 you’re right, adding ice cream would take this idea even further along into heaven!

      Like

Leave a Reply

